Winners announced at 2019 AAT Training Provider Awards

10 May 2019

Training Provider Awards Dinner 2019

The winners of the 2019 AAT Training Provider Awards have been announced at a glitzy gala dinner in Stratford-upon-Avon.

The awards, now in their sixth year, were held at the new venue of Stratford’s Crowne Plaza hotel on Thursday 9 May, as part of the annual AAT Training Provider Conference. AAT students, training providers and tutors were recognised for their outstanding achievements over the past year.

Judges whittled down more than 100 entries, a record-breaking year for the awards, to thirteen winners. The full list of winners (in bold) and nominees was:

Innovation in Course Design and Delivery

  • South Devon College
  • Kaplan Financial - Distance Learning
  • Premier Training

Pauline Sparkes Award for Best New Training Provider

  • Harlow College
  • Newcastle City Learning

Apprenticeship Training Provider of the Year

  • The Apprentice Academy Ltd
  • BPP Professional Education
  • BC Arch Limited
  • Accountancy Learning

Distance Learning Provider of the Year

  • Accountancy Learning
  • First Intuition - Distance Learning
  • Gold Edge Training Limited

Small Training Provider of the Year

  • System & Skills Training Concept Sdn Bhd
  • European Institute of Management and Finance (EIMF)
  • CT Skills

Medium Training Provider of the Year

  • New College Durham
  • Abingdon & Witney College
  • The Apprentice Academy Ltd
  • Grŵp Llandrillo Menai (GLLM)

Large Training Provider of the Year

  • Premier Training
  • Exeter College
  • Botswana Accountancy College
  • Gloucestershire College (Gloucester)

AAT Distance Learner of the Year

  • Alex Thom - AVADO
  • Sophie Thomas - First Intuition - Distance Learning
  • Sarah Beck - Training Link

AAT Apprentice of the Year

  • Rebecca Elliott - New College Durham
  • Luke Turpin - Kaplan Financial - Distance Learning
  • Evie Halliwell - Training 2000 - Blackburn
  • Supriya Gureja - BC Arch Limited

AAT Student of the Year

  • Samuel Bytheway - Peak Accountancy Training - Liverpool
  • Wanano Chose Mabongo - Botswana Accountancy College (Francistown)
  • Gemma Davies - Bath College - FMBS AAT Academy
  • Nickoy Crosdale - The Training Place of Excellence

AAT Tutor of the Year

  • Karen Walker - Abingdon & Witney College - Witney
  • Carol Smith - New College Durham
  • Jeff Grimston - Premier Training
  • Phillip Toomer - First Intuition - Distance Learning
  • Nametsegang Mothupi - Botswana Accountancy College - Gaborone

AAT Champion

  • Newcastle City Learning
  • South Devon College
  • Premier Training

AAT Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Jeff Grimston MAAT - Premier Training

Vernon Anderson, AAT President, said:

The AAT Training Provider Awards are a magnificent opportunity to celebrate success. Each year, our students, training providers and tutors put in a significant amount of hard work, and this represents the best way in which to formally recognise their achievements. We are inspired by our winners and applaud the high level of attainment reached by all those shortlisted.”

Sam Bytheway, AAT Student of the Year, with Michael Smith from Osborne Books

Sam Bytheway, AAT Student of the Year, with Michael Smith from Osborne Books.

Samuel Bytheway, AAT Student of the Year 2019, said:

It's an incredible honour to have all my work over the last year recognised with this award, and going forward it'll help me remember that I can overcome adversity and achieve what I set my mind to. I wouldn't have been able to achieve my results without the help, dedication, and all-round incredible work of Caroline, Clive, and Headen at Peak Accountancy.

Karen Walker, AAT Tutor of the Year 2019, said:

 To win an award doing a job that you really enjoy doing, it didn’t seem right somehow, but I feel absolutely privileged and honoured. I’ve been teaching AAT for fifteen years and I love it. I feel overwhelmed by this award.

Find out more about the awards and the different categories.