AAT announces the shortlist for the 2017 Training Provider Awards

image: AAT Conference Awards
Friday 31 March 2017 - 12:00

AAT today reveals the shortlist for this year’s Training Provider Awards, celebrating the achievements of providers and individuals who have demonstrated excellence in the delivery of AAT qualifications.

Over 100 applications, a record for the awards which are now in their fourth year, were received across 14 categories. In addition, the shortlist for the "Tutor of the Year" category, voted for by students, is published today. The "Lifetime Achievement" award, to be presented to a long-serving AAT Tutor, will be announced at the awards ceremony itself.

The judging panel for the awards consisted of former AAT President Henry Cooper, AAT Council Member Christina Earls, editor of PQ Magazine Graham Hambly, and AAT’s Product Manager for Training Providers Ross Grange.

The winners of all 14 awards will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 4 May, during the AAT 2017 Training Provider Conference at the Birmingham Metropole Hotel.

Mark Farrar, AAT Chief Executive said:

"It’s a pleasure to read the stories of all those that have been put forward for an award, from students who have excelled in their studies, to training providers performing an essential role in helping students to learn new skills and change their lives. Many congratulations to everyone who has been nominated.

"We also would like to take the opportunity to thank the sponsors for the awards; Kaplan Publishing, Osborne Books, without whom we could not host this prestigious event."

The shortlist in full is as follows:

Training provider of the year – small

  • Crunch Academy Limited
  • YH Training Services Limited
  • EMA Training Limited
  • Southend Adult Community College

Training provider of the year – medium

  • The Training Place of Excellence
  • Abingdon and Witney College
  • Preston's College
  • First Intuition - Cambridge

Training provider of the year – large

  • Bedford College
  • BPP Professional Education
  • ICS Learn
  • Kaplan Financial

Pauline Sparkes Award for best new training provider 

  • Vale Financial Training
  • The Skills Network
  • Aspire Accountancy School 

International training provider of the year

  • European Institute of Management and Finance (EIMF)
  • Al Moalem Institute
  • Management & Accountancy School (MAS Education)

Distance learning provider of the year

  • Premier Training
  • BPP Professional Education 
  • ICS Learn
  • First Intuition Distance Learning

Apprenticeship training provider of the year

  • South Devon College
  • The Training Place of Excellence
  • Learning Curve Group – Warrington Centre
  • Kaplan Financial 

Best use of e-learning

  • The Skills Network
  • ICS Learn
  • First Intuition Distance Learning
  • Kaplan Distance Learning

Student of the year

  • Claire Read – Premier Training
  • Alex Meredith – Pitman Training Newcastle upon Tyne 
  • Tasmin Reid – South Devon College
  • Rob Thornton – Starting Off

Distance Learner of the year

  • Peter Freeman – Accountancy Learning Ltd
  • Lucia Cheqrouni – The Training Place of Excellence
  • Katarina Kiilianova – First Intuition Distance Learning
  • Julie Dove – Kaplan Distance Learning

Apprentice of the year

  • Callum Evans – Damar Training
  • Chloe Hickman – Starting Off
  • Rebecca Fay – First Intuition - Cambridge
  • Joseph Waddington – Training 2000

Tutor of the year (Sponsored by Kaplan Publishing)

  • Jaime Brahmbhatt – Newham College of Further Education 
  • Derek Cleminshaw - Ealing, Hammersmith and West London College
  • Jerome Li – The Accounting Tutorship 
  • Ellen Diamant – Bedford College

Lifetime Achievement: AAT Tutor (Sponsored by Osborne Books)

  • To be announced on the night of the awards

AAT Champion

  • Premier Training
  • Accountancy Learning Ltd
  • Gold Edge Training Ltd
  • Starting Off