Exemptions information for training providers and universities

How AAT exemptions are granted

Step 1. Students must check their eligibility

If the student has been awarded a previous finance or accounting qualification, this may mean they are exempt from sitting some AAT assessments. They should use our exemptions navigator below to see if their previous qualification offers any exemptions.

Exemptions navigator

They can also check the exemptions list for AAT qualifications (PDF) which covers all of the accepted qualifications and units.

Read the AAT exemptions policy (PDF) for further information.


Step 2. Student to submit evidence to AAT

  1. If their qualification is on the list - the student will need to email a scanned copy of their certificate to customersupport@aat.org.uk. This is used as evidence to gain an exemption. Our Membership support team will then provide them with details on how to pay the exemption fee - this can be done online or over the phone.
  2. If their qualification is not on the list - the student will need to let you know. As training provider you will need to submit evidence of the previous qualification to AAT on the student's behalf. AAT will review the application and make a decision. Training providers wishing to submit this information can do so by emailing centre.support@aat.org.uk


Step 3. Student to pay exemption fee

You will pay a fee for each exemption you apply for:

  • Each exemption fee is the same as the equivalent assessment fee
  • The fee covers the administrative costs of applying the exemption

Useful documents

University exemptions

If students have completed a recognised accounting or finance related degree, they may be eligible to apply for exemptions for the AAT Level 4 Diploma in Accounting (Professional).

Universities partnered with AAT

  • Birmingham City University
  • University of Chester
  • Coventry University College
  • Edge Hill University
  • University of Glamorgan
  • University of Hull
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • Northumbria University
  • Middlesex University
  • University of Portsmouth
  • London South Bank University
  • University of Wolverhampton

If your organisation is not listed above, contact AAT's regional account managers to arrange a meeting.

Useful documents

For further information on exemptions, including the application process, please read the following documents: